Tuesday, March 29, 2011

AppV Troubleshooting

APP-V Client Troubleshooting
There are links at the bottom for more troubleshooting.

Note - If there is a command line listed you can try to run that instead of using the gui, but you need to know the application GUID or complete name where needed.

1st things first
The first thing you should always check is the log:

Win7
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Application Virtualization Client\sftlog.txt
WinXP
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\Application Virtualization Client\sftlog.txt
They will tell you lots of information. You can also change the logging level to get more information.

Once you’ve checked the log if there is nothing obvious in there. You should repair the application.

How to repair an application
Repair - When you repair an application, you remove any custom user settings and restore the default settings. This action does not change or delete shortcuts or file type associations, and it does not remove the application from cache.

Repair an application
1.Move the cursor to the Results pane.
2.Right-click the desired application, and select Repair from the pop-up menu.
3.At the confirmation prompt, click Yes to repair the application or No to cancel.
MS Calls this the results pane -

Command Line: SFTMIME REPAIR APP:application (where application is the name of the application you want to repair.)

Didn’t fix it? Then clear the application, just the one application that has issues.

How to Clear an Application
When you clear an application from the console, you can no longer use that application. However, the application remains in cache and is still available to other users on the same system. After a publishing refresh, the cleared applications will again become available to you. If there are multiple applications in a package, the user's settings are not removed until all of the applications are cleared.
To clear an application from the console

1.Move the cursor to the Results pane, right-click the desired application, and select Clear from the pop-up menu.
2.At the confirmation prompt, click Yes to remove the application or click No to cancel the operation.
Command Line: SFTMIME CLEAR APP:application

Didn’t fix it? Then delete the application, just the one application that has issues.

How to Delete an Application
When you delete an application, the selected application will no longer be available to any users on that client. Shortcuts and file type associations are hidden, and the application is deleted from cache. However, if another application refers to data in the file system cache data for the selected application, these items will not be deleted.
After a publishing refresh, the deleted applications will again become available to you.

To delete an application
1.Move the cursor to the Results pane, right-click the desired application, and select Delete from the pop-up menu.
2.At the confirmation prompt, click Yes to remove the application or click No to cancel the operation.
Command Line:
SFTMIME DELETE APP:application - Removes an application record from the file system cache to make it no longer visible. Users’ shortcuts and file type associations are hidden but not deleted. No user settings are removed.
SFTMIME DELETE PACKAGE:package-name - Removes a package record and the applications associated with it.

Didn’t fix it?
Delete OSD Cache filesDelete the OSD Cache file and Package files for the program, try not to delete all of them if you avoid it. Some programs have licensing information that is stored locally; the application will have to be licensed again and may not work correctly if the license was not released before the program was reset.

Win7
C:\Users\%usern%\AppData\Roaming\softgrid client\
C:\Users\%usern%\AppData\Local\SoftGrid Client\
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Application Virtualization Client\SoftGrid Client\
WinXP
C:\Documents and Settings\%usern%\local settings\application data\softgrid client\
C:\Documents and settings\%usern%\application data\softgrid client\
C:\Documents and Settings\all users\documents\softgrid client\

SFTMIME CLEAR obj:app - clears all apps for the user
THEN
SFTMIME DELETE obj:app - Just deletes apps for the user- not globally

AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST – DO NOT DO THIS AS YOUR FIRST STEP OF TROUBLESHOOTING.Global Purge:

No comments:

Post a Comment